COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS JANUARY 2, 2024

Sanborn County Commissioners met in regular session on Tuesday, January 2, 2024, at 9:00 am, with Jeff Ebersdorfer, Steve Larson, Paul Larson, Gary Blindauer, and Duane Peterson present. Auditor Kami Moody was also present. Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Peterson to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

This being the annual reorganization of the Board of County Commissioners, the county auditor called for nominations for chairman of the board. Gary Blindauer nominated Jeff Ebersdorfer. Motion by Paul Larson, seconded by Gary Blindauer that nominations cease. Motion carried. Jeff Ebersdorfer will be Chairman. Ebersdorfer called for nominations for vice-chairman. Paul Larson nominated Steve Larson. Motion by Paul Larson, seconded by Duane Peterson, that nominations cease. Motion carried. Steve Larson will be the vice-chairman.

CITIZENS INPUT

No public was in attendance for input.

HIGHWAY

Sheri Kogel, Highway Department, met with the board.

Motion by Peterson, seconded by P. Larson to sign resolution #2024-1

Sanborn County Weight Limit Enforcement Resolution

WEHREAS, seasonal climatic changes can be detrimental to our highways, and

WEHREAS, the Sanborn County Board of County Commissioners, desires to protect existing Sanborn County Highways, ultimately saving the tax dollars and,

WHEREAS, the Sanborn County Board of County Commissioners, desire the enforcement of weight limitations and speed limits on Sanborn County roads and bridges as set forth and posted by the Sanborn County Highway Superintendent.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED:

That the South Dakota Highway Patrol be and hereby is authorized and requested to enforce weight limitations and speed limits on Sanborn County roads and bridges.

BE IT FUTHER RESOLVED that the penalty for the violation of the load restrictions shall be as set forth in SDCL 32-22-55.

Vote of Sanborn County Commissioners: AYE:5 NAY:0

Dated January 2, 2024 at Woonsocket, South Dakota

ATTEST:

Kami Moody

Sanborn County Auditor

Jeff Ebersdorfer

Chairman of Sanborn County Board of Commissioners.

Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Blindauer to approve the five township applications for the Rural Access Infrastructure Plan. Motion carried. The Rural Access Infrastructure Plan is a State Funded Grant program, to help Townships with the cost of replacing failing structures on Township Roads.

Benedict Township - \$69,000 Benedict Township - \$58,000 Benedict Township - \$31,258 Ravenna Township - \$28,700 Warren Township - \$28,767.40

APPOINTMENTS AND FEES

Chairman Ebersdorfer made the following appointments: Mental Health Board/Drug – Alcohol Board, Paul Larson; District III: Jeff Ebersdorfer; 4-H Advisory Board: Steve Larson; Sanborn Co Rural Development: Jeff Ebersdorfer; County Planner: Penny Farris & Tami Ziebart; Economic Development Board: Duane Peterson; SD Housing Authority Board: Jeff Ebersdorfer; Drainage Board: Gary Blindauer and Paul Larson; Planning & Zoning: Duane Peterson; Emergency Management Director: Josh Starzman. Motion by S. Larson, seconded by Blindauer to approve the appointments. Motion carried.

Motion by Blindauer, seconded by Peterson, that the following places be designated for holding chattel mortgage sales in Sanborn County for 2024: Front Door of Courthouse, City of Woonsocket; Between Block Four and Five, Original Plat, Town of Letcher; The public street on the North side of the Cortrust Bank, City of Artesian. Motion carried.

Motion by S. Larson, seconded by P. Larson to designate Cortrust Bank of Artesian, First National Bank South Dakota, Dakotaland Federal Credit Union, SD Public Funds Investment Trust (FIT), as Legal Depositories and the Sanborn Weekly Journal as the legal newspaper. Motion carried.

Motion by S. Larson, seconded by Blindauer to approve expenses for County Commissioners, County Officials, and County Employees to attend all scheduled meetings pertaining to County Business for 2024; to set mileage (.51 per mile) and Meals (\$6, \$14, \$20) at State Rates; to pay bills at each meeting; to establish a cost of \$3,000.00 for County burial or Cremation plus \$.75 per mile within the State; and to declare old iron, used bridge planks, old culvers, used tires and old parts as surplus with maximum value of \$1000. Motion carried.

Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Blindauer to set the commissioners' salary at \$8250 annually, plus insurance, no mileage; to set the wage for extra part-time help for the Register of Deed, Treasurer, Auditor, Sheriff's Office and Janitor at the wage of \$17.50; to set the wages for meeting of planning & zoning and drainage at the rate of \$60, no mileage; set the wage of election workers at \$200 plus mileage per day and to pay \$35 plus mileage for school of instruction, if attended and \$20 per hour, plus mileage for post-election audit workers; and to pay \$50 per month for Cell Phone usage to Deputy Sheriff & Highway Superintendent. Motion carried.

Motion by Peterson, seconded by P. Larson to use the state bid list for county purchases. Motion carried.

Motion by S. Larson, seconded by Peterson to establish four (4) or less voting precincts. Motion carried. Precincts will be as follows:

Precinct #1: Afton, Floyd, Benedict, Oneida, Artesian City, Diana, Union, Ravenna -

Artesian Community Center

Precinct #2: Butler, Letcher, Letcher City, Logan, & Elliott –

Letcher Community Center

Precinct #4: Jackson, Twin Lake, Woonsocket Township, Silver Creek Township, Woonsocket City Ward 2-

Woonsocket Community Center

Precinct #5: Woonsocket City Wards 1 & 3, Warren Township –

Woonsocket Community Center

By agreement of the board, the annual meeting with towns and townships will be on February 6 at 1:00 pm at the 4-H Building.

Motion by Blindauer, seconded by Peterson that the Register of Deeds will submit the money collected in that office each month to the treasurer by the 20th of the following month and the Sheriff by the 15th. Motion carried.

REPORTS

Auditor and Treasurer in all accounts \$2,479,337.65 Register of Deeds \$ 6,944.50

SALARIES & WAGES

Motion by Blindauer, seconded by P. Larson to approve the following salaries for staff for the year 2024. Motion carried. Salaries including the insurance incentive are as follows:

Annually	\$66,560.00
Annually	\$51,792.00
Annually	\$7,100.00
Annually	\$48,256.00
Annually	\$41,600.00
Annually	\$55,765.00
Annually	\$55,120.00
Annually	\$59,135.00
Annually	\$59,135.00
Annually	\$41,080.00
Annually	\$59,135.00
Annually	\$41,080.00
Annually	\$8,250.00
Annually	\$61,006.00
Annually	\$53,830.00
Annually	\$42,640.00
Hourly	\$19.00
Hourly	\$19.00
Hourly	\$18.25
Hourly	\$26.52
	Annually Hourly

Heath Larson, Highway	Hourly	\$20.93
Alan Larson Jr, Highway	Hourly	\$20.93
James Gorter, Highway	Hourly	\$20.50
Richard Miller, Highway	Hourly	\$20.50
Stuart Christian, Highway	Hourly	\$20.50
Cole Johnson, Highway	Hourly	\$20.00

There being no further business before the board, motion by Peterson, seconded by S. Larson to adjourn the meeting at 10:36 am. Motion carried. The next regular scheduled meeting will be held on Tuesday January 16, 2024.

Kami Moody Jeff Ebersdorfer

Sanborn County Auditor

Chairman of the Board, Sanborn County